The Madison Press wins OPSWA Awards

For The Madison Press

April 5, 2014

COLUMBUS — The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association (OPSWA) held its annual statewide meeting Thursday, April 3 and announced its 2013 writing and photography contest award winners. Earning Writer of the Year honors in their respective divisions were the Mansfield New Journal’s Jon Spencer (Division 1), Sandusky Register’s Mark Hazelwood (Division 2), Medina Gazette’s Albert Grindle (Division 3) and Columbus ThisWeek Newspapers’ Jarrod Ulrey (Division 4). The contest, which received 596 entries from 74 contestants, consisted of articles written during the 2013 calendar year.

Founded in 1972, the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association works to support and enhance the coverage of high school sports in Ohio and to recognize superior writing among sports journalists. In 2010 it partnered with the Ohio High School Athletic Association to create a website, establish electronic communication and increase its membership and recognition. The OPSWA website is located at, which includes the membership directory, officers information, hall of fame information and other updates.

Certificates were handed out to contest placers based on number of entries, while the Writers of the Year each received an inscribed trophy. Categories receiving less than 20 entries awarded three places, categories receiving 20‐39 entries awarded four places and categories receiving 40 or more entries were awarded five places. The four divisions were based on circulation size.

The contest was judged by 26 sportswriters from around the state and was coordinated by Kevin Buerge and Tim Stried of the OHSAA.

2013 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association — Award Winners

Writers of the year

Division 1 — Jon Spencer, Mansfield News Journal

Division 2 — Mark Hazelwood, Sandusky Register

Division 3 — Albert Grindle, Medina Gazette

Division 4 — Jarrod Ulrey, Columbus ThisWeek Newspapers

Division and Category Winners

Division 3

Division 3, Investigative/Enterprise (11 entries)

1. Modern Technology Getting High School Athletes’ Names Out There, Brandon Hannahs/Sam Blackburn, Zanesville Times Recorder

2. Still A Long Way to Go, Scott Richards Jr., Chillicothe Gazette

3. Taking Control: With Proper Treatment, Athletes With Asthma Can Do It All, Joey Chandler, Bucyrus Telegraph‐Forum

Division 3, News (33 entries)

1. Madison‐Plains Reeling After Death of Longtime Coach, Chris Miles, London Madison Press

Tie‐2. New Meadowbrook AD Bringing Young, Energetic Approach to Job, Jeff Harrison, Upper Sandusky Daily Jeffersonian

Tie‐2. Mohawk Boys Basketball Coach Has Professional Playing Experience, Nick Marlow, Upper Sandusky Daily Chief‐Union

Tie‐2. Graboski Inks Letter of Intent to Play Volleyball At Valparaiso, Nick Marlow, Upper Sandusky Daily Chief‐Union

Division 3, Feature (44 entries)

1. Damko Inspires G‐Men Through Response of Frightening Injury, Tom Nader, Record‐Courier

2. Harry Gilcrest’s Lasting Legacy Still Felt In Ravenna Today, Tom Nader, Record‐Courier

3. Born To Play:Hudson Had Eagles Softball In Her Blood, Joey Chandler, Bucyrus Telegraph‐Forum

4. Ho’s Kindness Comes From Family, Albert Grindle, Medina Gazette

5. Burton Is Master Motivator, Albert Grindle, Medina Gazette

Division 3, Column (29 entries)

1. Colts Did the Right Thing, Albert Grindle, Medina Gazette

2. Pirates Have Reasons to Smile, Albert Grindle, Medina Gazette

3. End Zone Couches a Wynford Tradition, Joey Chandler, Bucyrus Telegraph‐Forum

Tie‐4. Officials Should Be Invisible, Dan Messerschmidt, Bucyrus Telegraph‐Forum

Tie‐4. My Night with the Eagles, Joey Chandler, Bucyrus Telegraph‐Forum

Division 3, Game Story (47 entries)

1. The More Things Change, Rick Noland, Medina Gazette

2. Running for Grandma, Joey Chandler, Bucyrus Telegraph‐Forum

3. Blue Devils Honor Flemming with Victory, Albert Grindle, Medina Gazette

4. Pioneers Walk Into State Title Game, Chris Miles, London Madison Press

5. Living the Dream, Tony Maluso, Tiffin Advertiser‐Tribune

Division 3, Photography (12 entries)

1. Frank Robertson, Chillicothe Gazette

2. Chris Cook, Zanesville Times Recorder

3. Lonnie McMillan, Daily Chief‐Union